Uncategorized

A rainy Monday

Do you think Summer is going to join us this year?

It doesn’t seem like it, especially with the non stop rain yesterday, I was definitely feeling the Monday blues.

The start of something great 

But it was an exciting day because Rosie had her first full day at nursery, eeek! She did so well and I am so proud of her. After two settling in sessions last week it already seems like she’s grown up so much. I really think this is the next step for Rosie for her learning and development and I can’t wait to see the little changes over the next few months.


Rosie’s sessions are twice a week, 8am – 1 pm, a very long day for her so you can imagine how tired she was when she got home. I took her straight to bed and she slept for 2 hours! If I had woken her up I would never have forgiven myself for awakening the devil inside her who would have brought on lots tantrums.

Treat 

As it was a miserable day, when Rosie woke up, I had set up a spot of baking for us to do together. I am a huge fan of shortbread and it’s the perfect activity for a toddler, especially a messy toddler as I find it doesn’t make too much mess. So we made a batch of shortbread as a little treat after her first day of nursery.

250g of butter 

110g of caster sugar 

360g of plain flour 

These measurements are a little more then the normal recipe I use as you never no where the mixture is going to end up when your baking with a toddler; the floor, cats bowl, your hair, I could go on and on. 


Preheat the oven to 180C

  1. Beat the sugar and butter together until its smooth. I did this part without Rosie save the mess and the tantrum I see whenever she gets frustrated that she can’t do something.
  2. Fold the flour in, I do this a small bit at a time, until the mixture is like a paste. Again I did this without Rosie.
  3. Don’t forget your chocolate chips! I put them in a small bowl and Rosie pokes them into the mixture one by one, it takes while but she really enjoys it. 
  4. And then here comes the fun. Place the mixture onto a work surface and roll out until it’s about 1cm thick. This is a great opportunity for your little one to just have fun with the paste, I normally let Rosie play with it for 5 minutes. She rolls it, tears it, rolls it again, squishes it, tries to eat it and rolls it again.
  5. Cut your shapes. We have a a circular and flower shape in lots of different sizes and Rosie does a lot of the cutting and then places them on the tray. It’s lovely to watch your little getting stuck into an activity like this.
  6. Once they are on a tray sprinkle with sugar and place them in the fridge for 15 minutes.
  7. Cook for 15-20 minutes 
  8. Enjoy! 


We love cookies

I’m a sucker when it comes to a nice biscuit and I think Rosie is very much like her Mummy when it comes a nice homemade biscuit too. It’s a win-win situation, a perfect rainy day activity, a bit of fun, lots of mess and some lovely shortbread!


Thanks for reading! x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

